The Politeia Journal

The Politeia Journal

The Politeia Journal


The Politeia Journal was launched by the Decision of the Ministry of Education and Culture of the Republic of Srpska no. 07.030-053-85-7/11 of 23 May 2011, listed as item 617 in the Register of Publishers and Public Media of the Republic of Srpska. The Politeia is a bi-annual journal, with 19 issues having been published up to date.

The Politeia is a multidisciplinary academic journal publishing scholarly papers in the fields of politics, international relations, Balkan studies, sociology, communications, media studies, political systems, journalism, public relations, geopolitics, international security, law, history, cultural studies, social policy, and social work, as well as texts from other fields in the domain of social sciences.

As a result of an agreement between the Faculty of Political Science of the University of Banja Luka and the Institute for Political Studies (Belgrade, Republic of Serbia), the Politeia is a joint publishing venture of the two institutions, thus gaining the right of being listed in the Register of Publishers and Public Media of the Republic of Serbia as well.

As the only journal in the domain of social sciences in the region of Southeast Europe to be registered in two countries – Bosnia and Herzegovina and Serbia, the Politeia aims at establishing relations between domestic, regional, and international academic circles.

In terms of its contents, the Politeia offers the OPEN ACCESS policy, making all the papers available for free to users and their institutions. Users are entitled to read, download, copy, distribute, print, browse or access full-length texts of the papers, as well as to use them for any legal purposes without  previously asking for approval from the publisher or author, which is in line with the OPEN ACCESS policy.

With regard to its recognition in international reference indexes, the Politeia is indexed, apart from the Scandinavian ERIH PLUS and the CEEOL (Frankfurt, Germany), in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) as well, thus joining the vast community of more than 11,300 journals from 123 countries across the globe. The latter features quality and referent journals, which contributes to the international visibility of the Politeia.

In the beginning, the Editorial Board members were Mr Nikola Poplasen, PhD (Editor-in-Chief), Mr Nenad Kecmanovic, PhD (Editor-in-Charge), Mr Slobodan Nagradic, MA (Executive Editor), and Mr Aleksandar Vranjes, MA (Electronic Issue Editor)

Editorial Board:

Živojin Đurić (Serbia), Milomir Stepić (Serbia), Nenad Kecmanović (B&H), Braco Kovačević (B&H), Aleksandar Bogdanić (B&H), Aleksandar Savanović (B&H), Đorđe Vuković (B&H), Vesna Šućur-Janjetović (B&H), Darko Tanasković (B&H), Srđa Trifković (B&H), Zdravko Zlokapa (B&H), Aleksandar Vranješ (B&H)

International Editorial Board:

Darja Zaviršek (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia); Ronald L. Hatchett (Schreiner University, USA); Miro Haček (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia); Mary Neuburger (University of Texas at Austin, USA); Claude Mangion (University of Malta, Malta); Diego Fusaro (Institute for Higher Strategic and Political Studies, Italy); Guadalupe Martínez Fuentes (University of Granada, Spain); Vassilis K. Fouskas (University of East London, United Kingdom); Todor Galounov (St Cyril and St Methodius University of Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria); Ana Nikodinovska Krstevska (Goce Delchev University, Macedonia); Klara Bilgin (Virginia International University, USA); Yannis Stavrakakis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece); Andrej A. Lukšič (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia); Robert Holman (University of Economics, Prague, Czech); Ilias Kouskouvelis (University of Macedonia, Greece); Konstantin N. Lobanov (Belgorod Law Institute of the Ministry of Internal Affairs, Russia); Adam Fagan (Queen Mary University of London, United Kingdom); Laurence Armand French (University of New Hampshire, USA); Taro Tsukimura (Doshisha University, Japan); Jacqueline Briggs (University of Lincoln, United Kingdom); Steven E. Meyer (Daniel Morgan Graduate School of National Security, USA); Žiga Vodovnik (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia); Jelena Zlatar Gamberožić (Institute for Social Research in Zagreb, Croatia); Alexandra F. Yakovleva (Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia); Artur Demchuk (Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia); Thengamehlo H. Ngwenya (Durban University of Technology, South Africa); Gabriella Schubert (Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Germany); Cirila Toplak (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia); Maia Y. Rousseva (St Cyril and St Methodius University of Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria); Philip I. Ouzounov (St Cyril and St Methodius University of Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria); Manuel Martín Algarra (University of Navarra, Spain); Silviu E. Rogobete (West University of Timisoara, Romania); Piero Ignazi (University of Bologna, Italy); Teresa La Porte Fernández-Alfaro (University of Navarra, Spain); Andrew R. G. Milne (Sciences Po Toulouse, France).